Follow us
  >  Public Law   >  More Medical Conditions Now Qualify For Compassionate Allowances
Woman researching social security SSDI disability claims

More Medical Conditions Now Qualify For Compassionate Allowances

Severe Illnesses Are Disabilities, Too

Did you know that 45% of the American population suffers from at least one chronic disease? If you or someone you know has a chronic illness, you know how debilitating it can be. Some illnesses and conditions are energy-draining and can lower a person’s quality of life.

On top of that, medical bills can pile up, while the person suffering from the condition has less ability to work. To ease these burdens, many severe diseases qualify for Compassionate Allowances.


What Are Compassionate Allowances?

The Compassionate Allowances program was created to quickly determine whether someone qualifies for social security disability, based on the medical condition they have.

Severe medical conditions such as some cancers, brain disorders, and rare diseases qualify the person diagnosed with them to receive a disability check. This identification system reduces the time those with these conditions have to wait to be approved to receive disability support.


Filing a SSDI Social Security Disability Claim

New Conditions Granted Compassionate Allowances

The good news is, more conditions are now qualifying to receive financial support. On Monday, August 16, 2021, a press release by the social services announced that the it would be expanding its Compassionate Allowances program to include twelve more medical conditions.
These new conditions include:

  • Charlevoix Saguenay Spastic Ataxia (ARSACS)
  • Choroid Plexus Carcinoma
  • CIC-rearranged Sarcoma
  • Congenital Zika Syndrome
  • Desmoplastic Mesothelioma
  • Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy – Adult
  • Pericardial Mesothelioma
  • Refractory Hodgkin Lymphoma
  • Renpenning Syndrome
  • SCN8A Related Epilepsy with Encephalopathy
  • SYNGAP1-related NSID
  • Taybi-Linder Syndrome

This is good news for those who suffer from these illnesses. It means that those with these conditions can apply for financial help and collect disability. If you or someone you know is suffering from these illnesses, you should apply today.


How Does the Compassionate Allowances Program Work?

Since the conditions listed under the compassionate allowances are severe, those diagnosed with them usually only need to apply for social security disability.

To complete the application process, the applicant will need to provide access to his or her medical records. This can be done electronically, which speeds up the process.

If the applicant’s records prove he or she has a qualifying condition, the applicant is usually approved.


What if my condition doesn’t qualify?

As this new press release shows, the number of conditions that qualify for compassionate allowances is continually expanding. As the SSA learns about new conditions which should potentially qualify for disability, they start to gather information. They gather input from the public and from the Social Security and Disability Determination Service communities.

Then, the SSA consults with medical experts, researching alongside the National Institutes of Health (NIH). They consult all sources before deciding which diseases and conditions should qualify a person for disability.

You can find a complete list of conditions that qualify for compassionate allowances on the SSA website.

If you don’t see your condition on their list, you can suggest they add it.

Sometimes, you can’t wait. If you need to start receiving disability sooner, you should consult with us. We can help you to build your case so that you can get the help you need.

More Information

If you have questions about your disability or whether your Long COVID diagnosis might qualify you for disability benefits, contact Lowery Law Group at info@lowerylegal.com or call (843) 991-0733. There is no fee for a free consultation regarding your claim. Lowery Law Group is experienced in handling cases in South Carolina as well as Georgia.